2nd HPTLC Online User Meeting, hosted by the HPTLC Association

    Thursday, June 16

    06:00 PDT / 09:00 EDT / 14:00 BST / 15:00 CEST / 18:30 IST / 21:00 HKT

Promoting the use of HPTLC in plant analysis and other analytical fields is the main purpose of the International Association for the Advancement of High-Performance Thin-Layer Chromatography (HPTLC Association). For this, we bring together representatives from academia, industry, research, regulatory, and standard setting bodies. The “HPTLC Online User Meetings” shall facilitate a worldwide exchange of knowledge between HPTLC users and share the spirit of working in an exciting analytical field!

Session 1: Using just classical Silica gel 60? There is more!

The stationary phase most commonly used in basic and High-Performance Thin-Layer Chromatography is the classic Silica gel 60 layer. It is also referred to as the normal phase. However, for many applications the choice of a modified silica gel layer could lead to a much better chromatographic result. Plus, the corresponding mobile phase may permit the use of less hazardous solvents. This session will discuss the diverse properties of available stationary phases, and present unique application examples to illustrate the possible improvements of separation conditions.

Session 2: How to assess the safety of food products in absence of toxicological data

Assessing the safety of food is challenging as foods are complex mixtures containing thousands of known and unknown substances occurring at various concentrations. What is the best method to detect chemicals of most concern on which further toxicological investigations should be focused? Recent progress using Thin-Layer Chromatography (HPTLC) coupled to bioassays has been proposed as a breakthrough solution to fill some of the gaps identified with standard bioassays. In this session, HPTLC effect-direct analysis (EDA) for toxicologically relevant endpoints will be presented, anchoring bioassays and chemical analysis in complex mixtures of unknown composition with the goal to optimize and speed up decision-making in Food Safety.

Space for discussions – Meet the speakers and representatives from the HPTLC Association in a follow-up meeting held via Zoom at 15:15 BST

Take the opportunity to engage in discussions with speakers, colleagues, and representatives from the HPTLC Association in a moderated Zoom meeting, scheduled immediately after the main event. A separate registration for the Zoom meeting is not required – registrants for the main event will receive an email invitation with an access link one day prior to the event. Additionally, a QR code and a shortlink will be displayed after the Q/A session to bridge the gap, enabling a seamless transition from the webinar platform to the Zoom meeting also for last minute registrants.

Key learning objectives

  • Extend your knowledge about HPTLC and understand the benefits of HPTLC for diverse applications
  • Get insights into the daily work of HPTLC users
  • Learn how to optimize your HPTLC application(s)

Who should attend?

  • Researchers
  • Students
  • Analysts
  • Technicians
  • Scientists
  • Members of the HPTLC Association

Speakers

Michaela Oberle
TLC Specialist and Project Leader R&D
Merck KGaA

Maricel Marin-Kuan, PhD
Senior in vitro toxicology specialist
Nestlé Research